Hello, welcome to visit Shanghai Forum

Xu Ningsheng

President and Professor of Fudan University Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences Chair, Shanghai Forum Organizing Committee

Dr. Xu Ningsheng is a professor at Fudan University in Shanghai, China. He was
awarded his bachelor degree in Semiconductor Physics in 1982 from Sun Yat-
Sen (Zhongshan) University. From 1983 to 1986, he conducted his postgraduate
research at Aston University, UK and received his PhD in 1986. In 2013, he was
awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science (DSc), also from Aston University. After
receiving his PhD, Ningsheng was employed as research staff of Aston University.
In 1996, he was appointed Professor of Physics at Sun Yat-Sen University and
served as the Head of the School of Physics and Engineering for a period of time.
He also served as the Director of the State Key Laboratory of Optoelectronic
Materials and Technologies from 2002 to 2014. He was President of Sun Yat-
Sen University from December 2010 to October 2014, and in October 2014, he
became President of Fudan University.
His current research focuses on electron emission cold cathode materials. He has
served as chairman and member of various steering committees of international
academic organizations, including IVMC/IVNC (International Vacuum Micro/
Nanoelectronics Conference), IFES (International Field Emission Symposium)
and SID (Beijing Chapter, Society of Information Display), and is now the
Chairman of Vacuum Society of China. He is also a Fellow of the Institute of
Physics, UK. He has published more than a hundred scientific research papers
in international journals and written chapters of numerous academic works,
including a chapter in an academic volume published by Academic Press,
London, UK and a chapter in an encyclopedia published by American Scientific
Publishers. He is also one of the inventors of patents in China, the United States,
the United Kingdom and other European countries. He was elected to be an
academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) in 2009 and a member of
The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) in 2011. He has
served in a number of national expert committees, including China 973 and 863,
two national key programmes. He is currently a member of the expert committee
for the 13th National Five-Year Plan.